<%@LANGUAGE="VBSCRIPT"%> REFERENCE DATABASES : Atlantic County Library System
image
  

Search          
   
Log in to Your Account    

HOME

 

Reference Databases
Beacham's
Habitats, ecosystems and images of more than 1,200 species identified as endangered or threatened by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife service.
Biography

Biography and Genealogy Master Index

Where to look for biographical material on individuals from all time periods, geographical locations and fields of endeavor. It indexes many biographical sources.
Contemporary Authors database

Contemporary Authors

Biographies of 123,684 authors.
EbscoHost
Encyclopedia of Biography database
Published by McGraw Hill, this eBook contains 7,000 biographies on notables from every part of the world and from all time periods. Includes thousands of photos, a consolidated index, and more.
Facts on File database
Facts on File is a collection of databases highlighting science, literature, geography, history, and multicultural sources. It also has a collection of Curriculum Resources, Career Guidance section, and personal and business forms.
Encyclopedia of Cancer
Gale Encyclopedia of Cancer, 2nd ed., is a comprehensive survey of 120 cancers, cancer drugs, traditional and alternative treatments, side effects and diagnostic procedures.
Encyclopedia of Childrens Health
The set, which covers every major body system, is arranged into five main entry types: Diseases and Disorders; Development; Immunizations; Drugs; and Procedures, with a distinct emphasis on the health issues affecting children under the age of four.
Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders
Provides clear, complete information on genetic disorders, including conditions, tests, procedures, treatments and therapies, in articles that are both comprehensive and easy to understand in language accessible to laypersons.
Encyclopedia of Multiculture
Contains 8,000 to 12,000 word essays on specific culture groups in the United States, emphasizing religions, holidays, customs, and languages in addition to providing information on historical background and settlement patterns. Also covers ethnoreligious groups such as Jews, Chaldeans, and Amish. Each essay lists organizations and research centers; name, address, and contact information for periodicals, radio, and television stations; and a further readings section.
Encyclopedia of Neurological Disorders
Provides in-depth coverage of neurological diseases and disorders.
Encyclopedia of Surgery
Written especially for patients and allied health care students by experts in the field, this encyclopedia covers approximately 450 surgical procedures and related topics, such as anesthetics, medications, and postoperative care. Entries include definition, purpose, demographic information, diagnosis/preparation, aftercare, risks, morbidity, and mortality rates, alternatives, and more.
Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Search eight complete reference books/sets at once.
Informe Spanish
This is a Spanish language version of InfoTrac.
Database of Custom Newspapers
This newspaper collection is provided by the New Jersey State Library and includes: New Jersey newspapers, the New York Times (2000 - present), plus many more national and international newspapers.
Health database
Two separate databases--Health Reference Center and Health Reference Center Academic--contain magazine articles on fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, occupational health and safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs and prescription drugs.
Magazines database
This general interest database integrates a variety of sources in one easy to use format. It contains articles from magazines newspapers and reference books, many with full text and images.
JerseyClicks
Search full-text magazines, journals, encyclopedias and ReferenceUSA business database. Click on Custom Search to see the entire list of databases. Provided by the New Jersey State Library.
Literature Resource Center
A complete literature reference database offering literary criticism, biographies, bibliographies, work overviews and explications, Web sites, periodical articles, compare and contrast pages, full-text author's works, and reading lists on authors and literary figures.
LitFinder
Full-text stories, poems, plays, essays, speeches and index to more.
Novelist
NoveList is a readers’ advisory resource which assists fiction readers in finding new authors and titles. NoveList contains materials for all ages including picture books, children’s “chapter” books, young adult titles and books for adult readers. Provides enhanced subject access to over 135,000 fiction titles.
Searchasaurus
Searchasaurus contains magazine articles just for kids from sources like Ranger Rick and Teen Magazine, as well as a general encyclopedia and animal encyclopedia.
Student Resource Center
The Student Research Center is designed especially for youth in grades 6-12. Site includes magazines, newspapers, encyclopedia, maps, photos and more.